Los Angeles
Kings
40-27-15
San Jose
Sharks
43-29-10

31 SOG
38 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
LAK
SJS
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (51)
game preview

Sharks, Kings seek to turn recent fortunes around

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 2:15 AM

Eric Goodman - NHL.com Staff Writer

Share with your Friends


Sharks, Kings seek to turn recent fortunes around
Los Angeles Kings vs. San Jose Sharks
KINGS (6-4-3) at SHARKS (7-4-1)

TV: NHLN-CA, FS-W (HD), CSN-CA (HD)

Last 10:
Los Angeles 5-3-2; San Jose 6-3-1

Season series:
This is the first of six meetings between these Pacific Division rivals. The Sharks took the 2010-11 season series with a 3-1-2 record, winning twice in the shootout.

Big Story: Neither team is playing its best hockey right now with the Kings going winless in their last four games and the Sharks dropping two of their last three games. San Jose aims to pull even on their home record after beginning the season at 2-3-0, while Los Angeles will attempt to get back on the winning side of things as it has currently dropped its last two road games.

Team Scope:

Kings: While Los Angeles has managed to gain at least a point in three of its last five games, it hasn't exactly been a very successful stretch recently. The Kings' most recent game saw them surrender a 2-1 lead with just under three minutes to play in regulation and eventually lose to the visiting Pittsburgh Penguins in the shootout this past Saturday. 

While Anze Kopitar continued his strong play as the center on the Kings' first line with a goal, assist and a plus-2 rating against Pittsburgh, it wasn't enough to get his team the much-needed two points in the standings.

"If we play like that, I like our chances in each and every game. We had a couple chances in the third and in OT but we couldn't score there. It didn't go our way tonight," Kopitar told Kings' reporter Rich Hammond.

Sharks: San Jose has been impressive after regulation this season, going 3-1 in the overtime and shootout, but Saturday's 4-3 loss in overtime to the visiting Predators was a game that it would rather have back. The Sharks gave up a 3-1 third-period lead and eventually fell after the Preds' David Legwand tallied midway through overtime.

The Sharks started the game dominating on mostly all angles and outshooting Nashville 19-7 in the first period. But the strong effort resulted in a scoreless opening period and San Jose struggled to keep up the momentum throughout the rest of the game.

"Sometimes when you focus on the start as much as we did, we got it," coach Todd McLellan told NHL.com following the game. "But the back end of our game wasn't what we wanted. So, we're trying to find a full 60 minutes from our guys."

Who's Hot: Kopitar has 3 goals and 6 points for the Kings in scoring in four of his last five games. … For the Sharks, Joe Pavelski notched a goal and an assist in Saturday's loss and has managed at least a point in seven of his last eight games.

Injury Report:
Kings forward Colin Fraser remains day-to-day with a foot injury. … Goalies Antero Niittymaki (hip) and Alex Stalock (knee) and forward Frazer McLaren (hip) are on injured reserve for San Jose.
 
Stat Pack: The Kings' scoring touch has been misplaced nearly all season long as they have scored two or fewer regulation goals in 11 of their first 13 games.

Puck Drop: The Kings players are aware that they need to pick up their scoring pace quickly, but panic hasn't set in just yet.

"This team is good enough that it's going to come around for us. Guys are going to start scoring goals," defenseman Matt Greene told losangeleskings.com following Saturday's loss. "It's going to happen sooner or later by sticking with the system and doing what we do, cycling the puck, and getting chances is how it's going to happen."

2011-2012 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Apr 07 '12LAK 2 at SJS 3 - OTD. Boyle
Apr 05 '12SJS 6 at LAK 5 - SOJ. Pavelski
Mar 20 '12SJS 2 at LAK 5A. Kopitar
Dec 23 '11LAK 1 at SJS 2 - SOR. Clowe
Nov 28 '11SJS 0 at LAK 2E. Moreau
Nov 07 '11LAK 2 at SJS 4D. Boyle
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
A. Kopitar1481018+1030
J. Williams143710+2210
M. Richards142810-2700
D. Brown14369-21021
S. Gagne12448+41001
J. Johnson14426-3433
D. Doughty9044-3400
S. Voynov5213+3011
J. Stoll14123-2600
W. Mitchell14033+1600
M. Greene14033-21200
S. Parse8202+11410
K. Clifford14112-3900
R. Scuderi14011-1400
B. Richardson14011-1800
E. Moreau14011-31400
D. Penner12011-32300
K. Westgarth6011-11900
T. Hunter5011-1000
T. Lewis13000-1200
A. Martinez13000-3200
D. Drewiske1000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Quick126-3-3233601.87.936
J. Bernier20-2-07493.56.857
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Pavelski139817+7431
J. Thornton134913+5601
P. Marleau134812+6400
L. Couture136511+4400
R. Clowe134711+11820
D. Boyle13189+51211
M. Havlat9178+4810
B. Burns13325+0021
M. Vlasic13134+5200
M. Handzus13213+1410
D. Murray13033+101100
T. Mitchell10033+0400
A. Desjardins12202-22101
J. McGinn13112+2200
J. Demers7022-6200
J. Vandermeer4022+3500
B. Ferriero4101+0001
B. Winchester13011-21300
T. Wingels3011+0400
A. Murray13000+0200
C. White10000-5600
J. Braun6000+3400
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
A. Niemi95-2-1242352.96.898
T. Greiss53-2-0101381.99.928