Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
 
  • PRINT
  • RSS

KINGS TO OPEN 2007-08 NHL REGULAR SEASON IN LONDON

Thursday, 03.01.2007 / 7:51 AM / Los Angeles Kings | News
Los Angeles Kings
LOS ANGELES/LONDON – The Los Angeles Kings will open the 2007-08 National Hockey League regular season at the new O2 Arena in London, England, with two games against the Anaheim Ducks on Sept. 29 and 30, announced Kings Governor Timothy J. Leiweke on Thursday from the O2 in London in conjunction with the NHL and the Ducks.

The special "NHL Premiere 2007" series will be the Kings' first games ever outside of North America and the first NHL regular season games to be played in Europe.

Purchase Tickets | Travel Packages

"This is a historic and exciting announcement for the Kings, the National Hockey League and the new O2 Arena," said Leiweke, who in addition to serving as Kings Governor serves as President & CEO for AEG, the parent company of the Kings and the owners and operators of the O2.

"Everybody associated with the Kings and AEG are thrilled with the unique opportunity to take our team and the great game of hockey overseas, and there could not be a better venue than the O2 to host such an event. The Kings-Ducks rivalry has been a lot of fun for a lot of years in Southern California. The NHL Premiere 2007 series in England takes it to an unrivaled and unprecedented level."

Said NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly: "Our commitment to grow the game globally has never been stronger. The NHL is extremely proud to be represented in London by two great hockey organizations in the Ducks and Kings as well as to be recording NHL history at such a fantastic facility in the 02."

The games are scheduled to begin at 8 p.m. GMT, 12 p.m. PT on Sept. 29 and 5 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. PT on Sept. 30. The remainder of the Kings' 2007-08 regular season schedule will be announced in July.